The Kingdom Among Us

My reflections after participating in the United Nation’s Commission on the Status of Women, 2015.

ELCA Young Adult Cohort

I was around 25 years old when I claimed Feminist as part of my personal identity. It took me that long to realize that’s what it was, even though my whole life had already been thriving due to those principles. It took a man to help me realize this and claim this identity; although, it was women who had been laying down the path for me up until that point. It took all of them to help me reach that place where I could realize that being a feminist, owning that label, was crucial to my identity and crucial to being a part of the change I wished to see in the world.

I remember the day I finally set my mind to it. That morning, I had met with my male advisor, and after some talking he asked if I considered myself a feminist. I said no for all…

View original post 872 more words

Leave a Reply

